PTI candidates file lawsuits challenging opponents’ victories in key constituencies

PTI candidates file lawsuits challenging opponents’ victories in key constituencies

They claim that Form-47, the official result declaration document, contradicts the individual polling station records in Form-45
PTI candidates file lawsuits challenging opponents’ victories in key constituencies

Web Desk


10 Feb 2024

Several Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) affiliated candidates have challenged their defeats in key Sindh and Punjab constituencies, alleging irregularities in the vote-counting process. They claimed that Form-47, the official result declaration document, contradicted the individual polling station records in Form-45.

NA-238 Karachi

PTI-backed independent candidate Haleem Adil Sheikh filed lawsuit against the election results of National Assembly constituency NA-238, Karachi, in the Sindh High Court.

Sheikh filed an application on Saturday through his lawyer, Barrister Ali Tahir. The petition alleged that despite receiving 71,000 votes according to Form-45, the results were manipulated in Form-47, leading to the declaration of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM-P) candidate as the winner.

Haleem Adil Sheikh lost NA-238 to MQM-P's Sadiq Iftikhar by 54,000 votes

NA-71 Sialkot

PTI-backed candidate Rehana Imtiaz Dar from Sialkot's NA-71 constituency challenged Muslim League (N) leader Khawaja Asif's election victory in the Lahore High Court, alleging irregularities in the counting process.

Dar argued that Khawaja Asif lost according to Form-45, the official document recording polling station results. However, she maintained that the latter manipulated the results in Form-47, and declared himself the winner.

The petitioner requested that the court direct the release of the results as per Form-45 and order to stop the Election Commission from releasing the final result. The petition further asked that the court should order a recount and annul the result of Form-47.

PML-N's Khawaja Asif emerged victorious with 118,566 votes, while Rehan Dar garnered 100,272 votes.

NA-248 Karachi

PTI-backed independent candidate Arsalan Khalid filed a petition, challenging the victory of Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) Pakistan convener Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui from NA-248 Karachi in the Sindh High Court.

His lawyer, Barrister Ali Tahir, alleged that based on Form-45, which records individual polling station results, Arsalan Khalid was leading by a significant margin. However, he claimed the results were manipulated in Form-47, ultimately declaring Siddiqui the winner.

MQM-P's Dr Khalid Maqbool won NA-248 Karachi with 103,082 votes, beating independent Arsalan Khalid who got 86,342 votes.

NA-117 Lahore 

Another PTI-backed candidate Ali Ijaz Buttar challenged the election victory of Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) leader Aleem Khan in Lahore's NA-117 through a petition filed in the Lahore High Court.

The petition alleged irregularities in the issuance of Form-47, Buttar claimed the Returning Officer (RO) issued the form without his presence or that of his representative, despite them being outside the office but the police did not allow them to enter. The petition requested the court to nullify current Form-47.

IPP President Aleem Khan defeated PTI-backed candidate Ali Ijaz by securing 72,519 votes. 

NA-47 Islamabad

PTI-affiliated independent candidate and lawyer Shoaib Shaheen has filed a petition with the Islamabad High Court challenging the results of the NA-47 Islamabad-II constituency in the 2024 general elections. 

He asserted, "We request the [IHC's] chief justice to hear the case immediately. The whole of Islamabad knows that NA-47 is my constituency," said Shaheen, adding that they also have Form 45. 

"The ROs [returning officers] are being pressured," he added.

PML-N's Tariq Fazal Chaudhary won NA-47 Islamabad II with 102,502 votes.

NA-128 Lahore 

Lahore High Court's Justice Ali Baqar Najafi issued a temporary restraining order against the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday, preventing the announcement of results for NA-128. This comes in response to a plea filed by PTI-backed independent candidate Salman Akram Raja, who challenged his removal from the location where the RO was preparing Form-47. The judge ordered, 

“The [ECP] shall not give effect to the Form-47 under Rule 84 (1) of provisional consolidated result of NA-128 (Lahore) prepared in absence of the petitioner or his agent,” the court order read. 

The judge instructed the RO to appear before the court. During the proceedings, the ECP lawyer informed the court of the RO's absence. He argued for dismissing the PTI candidate’s plea.

IPP leader Awn Chaudhry secured victory in NA-128 (Lahore 12) with 172,576 votes, defeating Salman Akram Raja, who secured 159,024 votes, as per unofficial results.



0 comment

Write the first comment for this!