Umpire Made Mistake in Awarding England Six Runs Instead of Five, Says Simon Taufel

Former umpire and member of committee who presides over cricket’s complex rule book confirmed that giving England six runs instead of five is a “clear mistake”.
England needed nine runs off three deliveries when a throw from Martin Guptill accidentally hit Ben Stokes’ bat and the ball touched the boundary. England was awarded six runs, four for the resulting boundary and two for the batsmen’s runs.
The relevant clause from the MCC rule book gives clear guidance in this regard.
Rule 19.8: Overthrow or willful act of fielder
If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the willful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be
— any runs for penalties awarded to either side
— and the allowance for the boundary
— and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.
“They (England) should have been awarded five runs, not six, it’s a clear mistake. It’s an error of judgement.” – Taufel
Samuel defended the officials because that moment involved so many moving parts, and said it was unfair on the umpires and both teams to say this was the moment that decided the match.
“It’s unfair on England, New Zealand and the umpires involved to say it decided the outcome.” – Samuel