Nutella ‘not halal’, says company, rectifies ‘error’ later
Nutella has sent Muslim fans into a frenzy after the company declared that its product was “not halal”.
Responding to a question on Twitter on whether Nutella was “halal” or not, Nutella USA responded by saying: “No, they are not halal”, which created an internet meltdown leaving many Muslim chocoholics heartbroken.
Later the company recognized its mistake and tweeted a clarification about what they meant.
As per US and Canadian laws, a halal label which certifies that the features and quality of the products abide by Islamic law rules, is not required on products that do not include meat or additives.